Like Dahlias in the Sky

I’ve lived in the St. Louis area for 16 years now and can honestly say I still haven’t figured out my favorite way to celebrate the 4th of July here in the Lou. I’ve done the small-town fireworks on the Illinois side of the river and thought they were decent. I’ve gone downtown to the Arch grounds a few times and loved the fireworks show there. Unfortunately, the crowds are just a little too much to bear.

This year, we decided to check out the fireworks show in Webster Groves. The fireworks show is presented as part of their Community Days summer celebration. It’s complete with all the things that make summer — carnival rides, games, BBQ and live music. While it was fun and all, the fireworks weren’t as showy as the ones down at the Arch. Yes, I know that’s to be expected. A national monument is surely going to wow more than a small St. Louis suburb’s display. But the Webster Groves show didn’t include my favorite fireworks (the ones that look like weeping willows). And because we were newbies to the Webster Groves display, we weren’t sure where exactly to position ourselves to get the best view. Without any idea where the fireworks were going to be shooting off, we just plopped ourselves onto a hill and camped out until nightfall. It turned out the fireworks shot off right above a series of tennis court lights — many of which made multiple appearances in my photos that night.

Anyway, as much as it might come off that I’m complaining, it really was an enjoyable night. St. Louis weather has been extremely kind to us lately. I was actually wishing I had a sweater once the sun started to set. Sweaters in July hardly ever happen here. And of course, I was pleased with a handful of the fireworks photos I snapped during the show. (Minus the fact that none of them were weeping willow fireworks.)

DSC_0008

This inflatable tiger butt photo bombed nearly all of my carnival photos.

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0033

DSC_0059

DSC_0062

DSC_0065

DSC_0080

DSC_0102

DSC_0130

DSC_0164

DSC_0165

DSC_0174

DSC_0178

DSC_0180

DSC_0194

DSC_0200

DSC_0201

DSC_0204

DSC_0209

DSC_0216

DSC_0221
DSC_0225

DSC_0229

DSC_0236

DSC_0237

DSC_0248
DSC_0249

DSC_0250

DSC_0251

DSC_0259

Next year, I’m really tempted to get a hotel room on the riverfront. Preferably one with a balcony that faces the Arch. Maybe then I’ll get the big showy fireworks display minus the sweaty elbows poking me while I try to position my camera correctly.

Or maybe we’ll decide that seeing fireworks isn’t really a necessity. In the whole grand scheme of things, celebrating our freedom with fireworks is just as American as drinking a cold brew on the deck behind our house (which, let’s face it, the hubs and I do well and do often).

No matter how you celebrated 4th of July, I hope you had a good one!

2 Comments

Filed under Holidays, St. Louis

2 responses to “Like Dahlias in the Sky

  1. Mary Beth Sales

    I got a lil’ homesick reading this! WG looks so cute. And I love the tiger butt, hahahahahhahahha. Happy STL is still fun and fabulous for you and the hubs!
    x
    mb

Leave a Reply

