Sunday at the Orchid Show

I don’t know about you, but this winter has done an impressive job of chaining me to my couch for weekends on end. I really have had zero motivation to get out of the house lately. I also apparently have had zero motivation to blog too, considering that my last post was almost a month ago.

Last weekend, however, was a different story. I wanted to get out of the house and do something. And although I nearly turned down the outing to stay home and do chores (lame), Mikey convinced me otherwise. I got dressed, grabbed my camera bag and headed down to the Missouri Botanical Garden for their annual Orchid Show.

I instantly felt better inside the showroom.

MOBOT Orchid Show 1

MOBOT Orchid Show 2

MOBOT Orchid Show 3

MOBOT Orchid Show 4

MOBOT Orchid Show 5

MOBOT Orchid Show 6

MOBOT Orchid Show 7

MOBOT Orchid Show 8

MOBOT Orchid Show 9

MOBOT Orchid Show 10

MOBOT Orchid Show 11

The Missouri Botanical Garden has conducted research in Madagascar for 25 years now. The showroom was a stunning display of orchids from the Madagascar region. It was a warm, tropical welcome to the snow-covered parking lot outside.

I’m no stranger to orchids. They grow wild back on Guam, where my family is originally from. So it’s pretty comical that Mikey and I paid $16 to see a 5,000 square foot display hall to get a glimpse of these beauties. We can and have seen them growing like it’s nobody’s business off the side of a coconut tree back home.

However, I can’t in any way, shape or form claim to be an orchid expert. Four years ago when we first moved into our house, my best friend gave me an orchid as a housewarming gift. It was a gorgeous white cymbidium orchid with flawless petals. Sadly, in the four years I’ve had it, I have not been able to get it to rebloom. Mikey likes to irritate me and tell me it’s dead (as any guy would), but the leaves are dark green and healthy. And in the past couple months, there has been some new growth. I’m determined to get the thing working again. Just need to find the time to figure out what’s wrong.

To round out our Sunday Fun Day, we left the garden and drove down the street to O’Connell’s Pub for Guinness and what could arguably be the best burgers in St. Louis. Because you know, nothing goes better with flowers than a good burger and a pint of Guinness.

Quite the change in scenery from the garden, but the food was delicious. So I'm not complaining.

O’Connell’s. Quite the change in scenery from the garden, but the food was delicious. So I’m not complaining.

A great day overall. Here’s to more Sundays spent off the couch and in the land of the living!

2 Comments

Filed under Photography, St. Louis

2 responses to “Sunday at the Orchid Show

  1. Connie

    BEAUTIFUL photos Nen! Glad you got out to the Orchid show! Those orchids can shake of the blues and the blahs! They are just beauties! La you. Ma

Leave a Reply

