Pinterest Hits, Volume 1: Summer Sangria & Strawberry Bruschetta

Are you one of those chicks who thinks Pinterest has changed your life? (And by changed your life, I mean sucked the living daylights out of every waking moment of your time?) You are not alone. While I’ve cut back on my Pinterest addiction by a few notches since joining, I still have a tendency to get lost in the world of “550 ways to paint a pumpkin” or photos of rosemary mint scented candles with the caption: rosemary mint scented candles.

No matter how addicting or pointless some people think it is, its made me a better cook or whatever. And I really have found some recipes, cleaning short-cuts, cool craft ideas and fab fashion trends while perusing the little corner of the Internets known as Pinterest. And so begins the first of what I hope will be a recurring theme — Pinterest Hits. Stuff I’ve tried and liked enough to do, make, buy or wear again.

Summer Sangria

First up, the summer sangria I made during our vacation at the Lake of the Ozarks this summer. It’s cool because while you spend all that time chopping fruit, you think to yourself, this is going to be really healthy. But it’s not. It’s just very delicious. And when you’re on vacation, that’s all that really matters. So find the recipe here, and cheers! (By the way, I didn’t add the serrano pepper because I was too chicken, but I swear it was just as tasty sans serrano pepper. Fact that I drank the entire pitcher by myself is justification enough.)

Strawberry Bruschetta

The next hit is a Strawberry Bruschetta recipe I found on Pinterest a while back. I decided to make it for a coworker’s birthday because 1) it seemed relatively easy to make, 2) it’s a cold appetizer, which prevented me from having to keep and serve the dish warm and 3) it seemed healthier than a batch of cupcakes or brownies. I documented the prep process because I had a feeling it was going to turn out pretty good.

Ingredients include: strawberries (shaped into a heart if you’re cool), basil, french baguette, goat cheese, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, freshly cracked pepper and sugar.

And good it was! The goat cheese, pepper and basil gave the sweet strawberries a tangy twist. A delectable combo. The dish got rave reviews at work, and I’m hoping they’ll give me a raise.

For step-by-step instructions, check out the recipe here.

If you decide to give either of these recipes a try, be sure to come back and let me know how yours turned out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

