I Found My Favorite Sandwich Shop

The sandwich. If you ask me, sandwiches are nothing to rave about. It’s usually just meat and bread. Or cheese and bread. Or peanut butter and bread. No matter what the combination, they typically translate into one thing — borrrrring. Subway, Jimmy John’s, Quizno’s. I’m not opposed to eating their sandwiches, but the bottom line is a sandwich is a sandwich is a sandwich…

UNLESS you’re eating a Fozzie’s sandwich.

I recently discovered Fozzie’s Sandwich Emporium on a super hot day in July. Mikey and I had just spent a couple hours at the Maplewood pool and needed some nourishment after  swimming (but mostly baking) in the hot sun. Mikey had just been to Fozzie’s a couple days earlier with some coworkers and gave it two thumbs up. I, on the other hand, hadn’t been to Fozzie’s before, but I’d heard nothing but good reviews — including the fact that Fozzie’s very own Mark Lucas was ranked among the top 20 sandwich chefs to know by Food & Wine Magazine. A great recognition for Fozzie’s and for St. Louis.

But little did I know that Fozzie’s would change the way I feel about sandwiches. These sandwiches are anything but boring. They have flavor. They have creativity. And above all, they have that big thing they call deliciousness.

And sandwiches aren’t the only thing Fozzie’s has on the menu. They have hot dogs and burgers and milkshakes and gyros and homemade parmesan chips that I could eat every day till the day I die. Mmm, they’re so good.

Their major menu

Homemade parmesan chips. Heaven!

Some other cool features of Fozzie’s: 1) They deliver! Which in my book, really puts the icing on the already awesome cake. We have already placed an order for delivery since my first in-person visit. The delivery version of their sandwiches? Also delicious. 2) They have a garden right behind their building, where they grow ingredients that are often used in their recipes. Homegrown is always good.

Enough of my raving. I’ll let the food photos speak for themselves. But the thing to remember is that if you’re in the St. Louis area, Fozzie’s Sandwich Emporium is seriously the real deal.

Mikey had the Italian Beef.

I had the Hair of the Dog hot dog. Heck yeah.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, St. Louis

Leave a Reply

