Ode to the Grill

I forgot how awesome it is to fire up the grill and cook up something delicious in a matter of minutes… until I made dinner tonight.

The weather was h-o-t in St. Louis today. I think the high topped out at 90 degrees. How’s that for an early spring? So with the record-breaking high today, I think it’s safe to say that grilling season has arrived.

Now normally I’d be jumping at the chance to get out into the backyard and work some magic on the Weber. But the persistent pollen, ragweed, oak, maple and whatever else on God’s green earth that puts the “geez” in allergies, has kept me wanting to stay indoors with the windows shut tight.

It was the same case tonight when I got home from work. But then, I looked at our handy-dandy recipe list (yes, we plan out our weeknight dinners a month in advance), and lo and behold Grilled Salmon with Corn Salad was on the menu. And so, I ventured out to the backyard while Mikey took The Bear to the dog park, and whipped up this summery recipe.

 Recipe courtesy of Whole Foods Market

Ingredients

Sweet Corn and Avocado Salad

  • 4 ears fresh corn, kernels removed from cob
  • 1 cup halved grape tomatoes
  • 1/2 small ripe avocado, diced
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons champagne vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

Salmon

  • 4 (4- to 6-ounce) salmon fillets
  • Canola cooking spray
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions

  1. For the salad, put corn, tomatoes, avocado, onion, cilantro, oil, vinegars, salt and pepper into a large bowl and toss gently to combine. Set aside.
  2. For the salmon, preheat grill. Spray fillets all over with cooking spray, then season with salt and pepper. Place salmon, skin-side up, on grill. After about 2 minutes, turn salmon a quarter turn and cook 2 minutes longer. Flip salmon and grill until cooked through, 4 to 5 minutes more.

Surprisingly, my allergies didn’t bother me as much as I expected. I guess that’s the beauty of fish cooking so quickly on the grill. And it’s early enough in the season to where I don’t get eaten alive by mosquitos. Always a plus.

Judging by how good dinner was, I’m sure there will be a lot more grilling in the near future. Next time it’ll be something meat-tastic like hamburgers, brats, hot dogs or bacon-wrapped beef tenderloin with a baked potato on the side. Sorry folks, no vegetarians in this house.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, St. Louis

Leave a Reply

