Austin-grams

Two days after we returned from our Seattle/Vancouver trip, I was off again to another out-of-state destination — to the city of Austin, Texas. Work sent me there for the annual South by Southwest Interactive Festival, a mecca for uber web geeks. Not that I’m claiming to be the ultimate web geek or anything, but I certainly felt at home among the multitude of nerd glasses and plaid.

Much of my time was spent attending seminars all day and schlepping through the non-stop rain that bombarded Austin for four out of the five days I was there. But the good thing was that I did get to squeeze in my fair share of great eating. And when great eating is involved, it’s bound to be a decent trip, no matter if you’re traveling for business or pleasure.

In typical business travel tradition, here are a few Instgrams/iPhone photos I snapped in Austin. Maybe one of these days I’ll get back there for pleasure.

{Photo Captions}

Clockwise from top left:

  1. Chevy concept car, which by the way, I would like for myself thankyouverymuch.
  2. SXSW festival logo, in case I forget the whole reason why I was there.
  3. Enjoying a brew or two. Shiner Bock is the Texas favorite.
  4. Weiner dog at Frank Restaurant. Appropriate for a hot dog joint.
  5. Fancy vanilla latte at Frank Restaurant.
  6. Nike branded building.
  7. Good old fashioned Texas BBQ at Green Mesquite.
  8. In the parking lot of Green Mesquite. About to get our BBQ on.
  9. Google took over a dive bar called Lustre Pearl. And by “took over”, I mean turning it into what looked like a college spring break party town.
  10. First lunch in Austin at a cafe and bar called Annie’s.
  11. Conducting cat interviews at the Friskies You vs. Cat party.
Leave a comment

Filed under Advertising, Career, Travel

Leave a Reply

