Eat Your Brussels Sprouts

It’s hard to believe, but my latest food obsession these days is brussels sprouts. Yes, the round little green things that I remember not-so-fondly as the veggies with major yuck factor that cafeteria ladies would serve with slotted spoons in elementary school. Ugh.

If brussels sprouts take you back to a no good, very bad place like they did for me, it’s time to put those painful memories aside. Because I think brussels sprouts are making a comeback. I’ve noticed them a lot on some of the dishes I’ve ordered when dining out. Like the Monkfish at Vino Nadoz (pictured below) and the Chicken Paprikash at Water Street Cafe.

So a couple weeks ago, I decided to try cooking brussels sprouts myself. How hard could it be? Not hard at all. And more delicious than I ever thought possible. The recipe I tried was for Oven Roasted Garlic Brussels Sprouts, found on Pinterest via The Cooking Photographer. All you do is toss the brussels sprouts with garlic, water, olive oil, salt and pepper and roast them in the oven.

Rinsed and ready

Cut, seasoned and about to be roasted

The finished product. Tender and caramelized to perfection.

Words can’t describe how yummy this recipe is. I could eat these little suckers like a bag of potato chips.

Of course, I have a whole new list of brussel sprout recipes to try.

Lemony Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Photo courtesy of Babble.com

Brown Butter Brussels Sprouts

Photo courtesy of Our Eyes Eat First

Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic & Cranberries

Photo courtesy of Pioneer Woman

I’m still in search of the perfect bacon + brussels sprouts recipe. If you know of a great one, please send it my way!

4 Comments

Filed under Food

4 responses to “Eat Your Brussels Sprouts

  1. I am afraid the best recipe I can think of is Scraped Sprouts. Cook em, open the bin and scrape em in. They are one veg that I just can’t. Handle.
    Lovely photos though.
    Best,
    Conor

  2. ebonyjohanna

    I can’t say that I will ever try these again, yes the memories of eating them in my childhood still haunt me. But am inspired by your enthusiasm and if I ever do eat them, I have you to thank!

Leave a Reply

