Best Valentine’s Day Dinner Everrrr

Sorry for my lack of posts lately. Blame it on that mandatory little thing called a j-o-b. They’ve been sending me out of town these past couple weeks. Although I can’t complain much about being in sunny, 70-degree weather in a little place called Orlando for four days in the middle of February. In any case, I’m happy to finally be home with Mikey and The Bear.

Valentine’s Day was this past Wednesday, and knowing that I’d be out of town for the day of romance, Mikey and I celebrated a few days earlier with a delicious dinner at The Tavern Kitchen & Bar.

I know I tend to rave about every restaurant we go to, but this one really takes the cake. The food was so incredibly yummy, and the service was fantastic. And the fact that The Tavern won St. Louis Magazine’s award for best St. Louis restaurant in 2011 totally legitimizes my rave review.

Judging by the photos below, we definitely had our fill of dishes while there. Kinda feels like we ordered a little bit of everything on the menu, which is part of the reason why I really love the place. One of their entrees is a sample platter that gives you a small portion of some of their best dishes. That includes the Filet “Loco Moco”, the Beef & Barley Stew, the Chicken Saltimbocca and the Pork Tenderloin. That’s what I ordered. Mikey, of course, chose his favorite cut of steak with the 14oz. Angus Reserve Ribeye, topped with literally the best onion rings I have ever tasted! For dessert, I enjoyed the house-made donuts with, wait for it… maple… bacon… cream. In a word, amazing.

And I can’t fail to point out the Truffle Mushroom Mac ‘n Cheese in the top right photo, which as you can probably guess, was perfection.

We kept the Valentine’s Day gifts minimal. I got a bouquet of roses and a box of chocolates, and I gave Mikey a St. Louis Blues license plate cover.

But the best part of my gift was the serenade I made in my pajamas on Sunday morning in commemoration of Whitney Houston’s death. I sang my own fab rendition of Whitney’s “I Will Always Love You” at the top of my lungs while Mikey folded a basket of clothes. I wish you could’ve seen the look on his face. He may or may not have thought it was awesome.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, St. Louis

Leave a Reply

