Redefining DINK

Shortly after the hubs and I tied the knot, my dad started referring to us as DINKs (Dual Income No Kids). I actually thought the DINK acronym was just another witty remark my dad made up. But two minutes ago, I googled “DINKS” and to my amazement, I discovered it’s an actual term! (Hey, I never said I was smart. And what do I know about finance?)

Well, word on the blog will tell you that the kitchen remodel is in full force. And the act of breaking off cabinets, ripping away linoleum and plywood flooring and detaching appliances from the wall has brought new meaning to the term, DINK. It now stands for Dual Income No Kitchen. Evidence is here in the photos below.

Just a sad pile of dust in the middle of what used to be a linoleum floor.

Stove, oven, cabinets, hood were there at 9 a.m. Gone by 10 a.m.

Sweeping was about all I was good for. Mikey and his stepdad did all the back-breaking work. And they were darn good at it too!

We can now cross demolition off the to-do list. Laying the new floor and grouting the tiles are on the agenda for today. Wish us luck!

3 Comments

Filed under Home Improvement, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Redefining DINK

  1. Craig

    Looks good. Did you have to jackhammer tile off the wall? That’s my biggest fear. Inspire me to tear mine up!

    • Thanks! No, we didn’t have to remove any tile, luckily. I was surprised at how quickly we moved through everything. Guess it pays to have a tiny kitchen. Hopefully our before and after photos will give you some inspiration!

  2. Pingback: The Brew Fest that was Missed | Everything Glitters

Leave a Reply

