I’m on a float!

Yesterday morning we (or rather, Mikey) loaded up the trunk with towels, munchies, sunscreen and beer and drove out to Sullivan, Missouri for a float trip on the Meramec River with 10 friends. From what I understand, float trips seem to be a Midwest thing. I’d never heard of them before I moved here in 1997. So for those of you who may not know, float trips consist of you and your friends on a large raft, floating down a river with beverages and snacks on board. It’s a cheap and fun way to get away from the everyday and bond with nature, friends and booze. And for us St. Louisans, our easy access to rivers left and right make float trips a popular pastime.

This was only the second float trip I’ve been on. And with two under my belt, I can easily say when on a float trip, there is never a dull moment. For instance, on our first float trip two years ago, Mikey lost his wedding ring to the Meramec River. Our group of eight had pulled into a sandbar to cool off, and as the hubs was wading in the water, he felt his ring slip right off his finger. And just like that, it was gone.

Needless to say, the loss of the Riley ring was a frequent topic of conversation on this year’s float trip. I suggested we all pause for a moment of silence when we drifted past the sandbar where the Riley ring was lost. But we really just laughed. Its been long enough now that I can laugh about it. And I’m willing to bet that some river fish is hoarding it in his stash of human treasures. That makes me laugh even harder.

This time around, no one lost a wedding ring. Although we almost lost a friend who was floating alongside the rafts in an inner tube and got her shorts stuck on a sunken tree limb. We did see a number of canoes flip over at a point in the river where the current picked up and the route was partially blocked by more fallen trees. One canoe that flipped was carrying what looked like a very expensive camera. Which begs the question, why would you ever bring an expensive camera on a float trip? So for a good part of the day, our manly men were running around rescuing people and their overturned canoes. A few grateful survivors thanked them with a few cans of beer. And to wrap up the day, we witnessed a handful of hoosiers doing very hoosier things toward the end of the trip. Which I will not go into as they were way too scandalous for my liking.

Moral of the story is, I love a good float trip. Can’t wait to do it again next year!

This image was borrowed from Wikipedia. (Since I was smart enough to not bring an expensive camera on a float trip, I do not have any float trip photos of my own.) But I at least want to show you a photo of the Meramec River and what it would look like to float it.

 

1 Comment

Filed under St. Louis

One response to “I’m on a float!

  1. Pingback: Three Good Reasons for Wrinkles | Everything Glitters

Leave a Reply

