www.ImAddictedToTheInternet.com

You know what? I think the Internet is amazing. It really, really is. And for someone like me, who pretty much likes anything and everything, there are millions of websites and blogs and social media outlets that I can easily get lost in. Endless forms of entertainment and round-the-clock shopping temptations that can keep a girl like me glued to the iPhone or computer screen morning, noon and night.

Here is a quick run-down of the social networking/web surfing tools I use and why I love them so.

Facebook  If you’re not on Facebook, I kindly advise you to buck up and do it already. This isn’t just a fad on this year’s hot list. It’s the way people have come to share the details of their day-to-day lives. For instance, you wouldn’t call up your best friend, tell her how pissed you are that its been raining all week and then hang up, would you? These random thoughts and little tidbits of our lives play out on Facebook and generate conversations between multiple people that normally wouldn’t happen over the phone or in an email. And well, if you’re not interested in sharing your life with others, there’s always Farmville or Mafia Wars.

Twitter  I’m here to debunk the myth that Twitter is all about status updates. The way I see it, Twitter is such a versatile tool that it can be anything you want it to be. I, being a constant seeker and finder of information, consider Twitter to be my go-to place for information about all the things I’m interested in. It’s like a customized news feed where I can keep tabs on anything from color blocking (a fashion trend) to the latest culinary creations from my favorite Top Chef chefs.

Instagram  This isn’t necessarily an Internet-based tool. It’s a photo-sharing iPhone app that allows you take photos with your phone and push them out to Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, etc. What differentiates it from other photo-sharing apps are the numerous photo filters that you can apply to the photos you snap. Each filter gives the photo a vintage look that makes for a very unique way of preserving your memories. And since I’m all into photography, scrapbooking and blogging, Instagram is right up my alley.

My first Instagram. Driving the MLK Bridge from Illinois into Missouri.

One of my favorite Instagrams. The white wine wall at St. Louis Wine Cellars.

StumbleUpon  This web-surfing tool has completely changed the way I surf the Internet. It’s especially useful when I feel the need to be inspired by something — anything. Here’s how it works. When you sign up, you check a list of categories that you’re interested in. My list includes advertising, fashion, photography, dogs, crafts, gardening and so on and so on. Then, you install the StumbleUpon toolbar to your Internet browser. Click the “Stumble” button, and the tool displays a website that’s related to one of your checked categories. As you continue to click the “Stumble” button, new websites from your preferred categories are displayed. The beauty of StumbleUpon is that you “stumble upon” an unlimited number of websites that a normal search engine probably wouldn’t suggest. Here is a foodie website and a viral video I found via StumbleUpon that are now filed away in my Bookmarks tab.

Foodgawker

Dog Goes Nuts During Soldier Homecoming

Pinterest  Ahh, my latest addiction. I signed up for this photo cataloging tool earlier this week, and I love it to pieces. You basically install a “Pin It” button to your Internet browser when registering. And as you surf the web you “pin” photos you like by pressing the “Pin It” button. That photo is then placed on what’s called a photo board. So as you fill your board with photos you like, your collection becomes a collage of all your favorite finds. Check out some of the photos I’ve pinned.

The definition of sweetness.

Photo courtesy of BippittyBoppittyBoo

These shoes remind me of potato sacks. FABULOUS potato sacks!

Photo courtesy of For the Love of Gold

And that’s my scratch-the-surface analysis. Hope my Internet addictions don’t rub on off you. Actually, I take that back. I hope they do, so we can friend each other, retweet each other’s tweets, get each other’s Instagrams, stumble upon stuff and share our pinterests together.

4 Comments

Filed under Advertising, Dogs, Fashion, Food, Hobbies, Photography, Shopping

4 responses to “www.ImAddictedToTheInternet.com

  1. I loooovvveee the artistic approach to those first few photos. You should consider doing some photography and adding it to this site.

  2. Pingback: Papa Razzi | Everything Glitters

Leave a Reply

