Self-Proclaimed Scrapbooker

My cool factor is going to shoot up by about a thousand points when I tell you… I love to scrapbook. Yes, just roll me right into the category of 40-something moms who crop (vocabulary lesson: crop is another word for the verb, scrapbook) into the wee hours of the morning on Friday and Saturday nights. You can also file me in your rolodex under “owner of a die-cutting machine, eyelet setter and embosser”. Call me up if you ever want to die cut the alphabet for fun.

I can remember scrapbooking as far back as sixth grade when one of my class assignments was to create a scrapbook of the school year’s highlights. Back then, it was all washable markers and scratch ‘n sniff stickers. But nowadays, the scrapbooking industry has exploded. You can buy all sorts of embellishments, including fabric, rubber stamps, distressed ink, corner cutters and state-of-the-art paper trimmers and die-cutting machines. And my favorite part may just be the patterned paper. LOVE paper with a pattern! (…and my cool factor surges once again.)

Since the hubs and I got hitched, I’ve had very little time to scrapbook. There are wedding and honeymoon photos that are still on the to-crop list. So this hobby of mine has become a once-in-a-blue-moon type of activity. But when I do get the time, it’s always very relaxing… and rewarding to see and show off the finished product.

To give you an idea of the magic that’s made at my craft table (again, cool factor — way up), here’s a tiny sample of the pages I’ve done.

Me and the Mr. in 2003 at the Broadway Oyster Bar. Click the image to enlarge it, and read the story about how we first met.

As you can imagine, I have a boatload of pages dedicated to Teddy. Scrapbooking has been a great way to preserve those memories of when he was just a puppy - which was all of about two weeks before he grew into a 75-pound Bear.

I have a couple scrapbooks that consist of travel-only photos. Here's one from our 2007 trip to Hawaii. Mikey and I are pictured with my parents at a luau at the Polynesian Cultural Center.

And of course, there are our wedding pages. Being able to scrapbook these photos was the primary reason for spending $1000 on the digital files from our wedding photographer. Worth every penny.

So there you have it. My scrapbooking in all its glory. Maybe some day I’ll start to fit in with the 40-year-old scrapbookers. Like in the year 2024 — aka the year I turn 40.

1 Comment

Filed under Hobbies

One response to “Self-Proclaimed Scrapbooker

  1. Pingback: Papa Razzi | Everything Glitters

Leave a Reply

