Easter Mode

Easter is upon us. And you know what I’m realizing? A lot of Easter decor is really ugly. For instance:

Green Bunny on a Stick. Why?

Is lighting a family of bunnies' ears on fire supposed to be a good thing?

Actually no, I'd rather not wipe my hands on Peter Cottontail's bum -- nor his face, thank you very much.

Aside from the rabbit overload, there are other Easter things I’m excited about.

1) Egg decorating. I haven’t decorated eggs since, oh, circa 1990. But Mikey came up with the idea a couple weeks ago. After we spent $425 on car repairs (see that story here), he thought it would be a good way to do something fun without breaking the bank. Smart, financially-responsible man, that Mike Riley. So the two of us will be holding our own grown-up egg decorating workshop in our dining room with the help of Martha Stewart and her infinite amount of egg decorating options. This is the style we’re going to attempt:

Photo courtesy of MarthaStewart.com

2) Duh, the food. Of course, my Easter excitement has to have some element of food in it. Pictured below is the salad I’m making for our Easter celebration. The name alone — Strawberry-Arugula Salad with Ricotta Topping — is enticing enough to get your mouth watering. Or at least my mouth watering, that’s for sure. Get the recipe here.

Photo courtesy of The Kitchn

3) Playing dress-up. Easter mass is a perfectly good reason for ladies, and especially little girls, to get dolled up. And I just so happen to be heading to the mall in the next couple days (imagine that). Let’s just say, if there’s an Easter dress calling my name, I will try to resist. But will likely fail.

Lace is in. And I love it.

Photo courtesy of Forever 21

Now that you’ve seen my rants and raves, what Easter celebrations/traditions are you looking forward to?

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion, Food, Holidays

Leave a Reply

