What Lies Beneath

Well folks, ’tis time to get movin’ and groovin’ on this kitchen remodel. Me and my anal-retentive self have been kind of really freaking out about this project of ours. I’ll remind you that we have zero experience in the DIY house project department, which leaves us nothing to draw from when it comes to putting together a plan. And when we don’t have a plan, I start to get panicky. On top of that, I know that remodeling a kitchen doesn’t happen overnight. Which is another thing I have to deal with. I’m into instant gratification when it comes to… well, everything. (I can’t help it. I grew up in the age of the Internet.) So that whole in between stage of having a kitchen in shambles (which is pretty much the whole process, I know) will not be my finest hour. But I’m forcing my anal-retentive self to make room for optimism because this kitchen remodel can and will get done! (insert Rosie the Riveter-esque fist in air).

So today gives me new reason to be optimistic. See, a few weeks ago, my in-laws came over for dinner, which gave us a chance to kick off the discussion about the kitchen. First question: where do we start? The answer? The floors. The kitchen floor is covered in not-so-lovely linoleum. And I’m all about getting rid of it. But we were curious to see what was underneath. So Mikey borrowed a circular saw from his cousin (it pays to have people in the family with manly man tools) and cut into the floor underneath the fridge today.

First layer off was the linoleum.

Adios, linoleum.

Second layer off was the plywood, which served as the subfloor for the previous owners to lay the linoleum.

Peace out, plywood.

And finally, we struck the layer we were hoping to find.

Hello, hardwood!

Hooray for hardwood! Since all but two rooms in the house have wood floors, it means having it in the kitchen will make it flow seamlessly throughout. Now we just have to start looking into hiring someone to refinish the floors. Or dare I say we do it ourselves? Eek! Probably not. But at least I can say that we’re off to a good start. So… anyone got a St. Louis area hardwood flooring refinisher you want to recommend? If so, I’m all ears.

2 Comments

Filed under Home Improvement

2 responses to “What Lies Beneath

  1. Pingback: Design Decisions | Everything Glitters

  2. Pingback: It’s so hard to say goodbye… to hardwood. | Everything Glitters

Leave a Reply

