Why I heart my husband

There are plenty of reasons. But one of them is the fact that for any and every occasion — birthday, anniversary, Valentine’s Day, etc. — he buys me greeting cards like this.

Old-fashioned, kitschy and overly ornate greeting cards with bows and lace and hearts and a shimmery, satiny finish to top it all off. The look is very… how do you say… grandma-ish. And you know what? I love it. Because it gets me every time. It draws me in with its stunning good looks and then kinda makes my heart melt when I read the message inside. Sappy, I know, but I’m only speaking the truth. He may not pick the cards with the most modern look, but he knows how to pick the cards with the best tear-jerking message. Get that? He pays attention to the words! What more could a writer wife ask for?

I, on the other hand, also pay attention to words when picking out gifts for Mikey. They’re just a little less sentimental… as evidenced by the photo below.

Nothing says "I love you" like a Big Ass Cab... right? Rrrrrright.

Aside from celebrating Valentine’s Day with our uber-embellished greeting cards and vulgar wine, we did dine like normal people the night before Valentine’s Day at Annie Gunn’s, a restaurant in Chesterfield known for their high quality meats. He had the Porterhouse. I had the duck breast. And then we came home to The Bear. (He got Omaha Steaks jerky treats for Valentine’s Day, in case you were wondering.)

Me and my two valentines

Hope your V-Day was as happy as ours!

1 Comment

Filed under Holidays

One response to “Why I heart my husband

  1. Pingback: 10/Fourteen | Everything Glitters

Leave a Reply

