Superbowl Spots that Scored

The Green Bay Packers and Pittsburgh Steelers battled it out last night for the title of Superbowl champs. The Packers won.

And that pretty much sums up the big game. (Hey, don’t laugh. You’re lucky I got the team names right. I did get them right… right?)

Moving on to what I consider the most important part of the Superbowl — the commercials. This big little business of trying to captivate audiences, change consumer perceptions and make people feel something for the brands they buy is the exact type of business I’m in. And I do it through words. That’s why they call me copywriter. So it’s only natural that I get a kick out of these ridiculously expensive TV spots. I’m the kind of writer nerd that lives for the BrandBowl.

I wasn’t overly impressed with a majority of the spots. There are only so many times you can do the whole soda can to the crotch thing and do it well. And Go Daddy, please. Just give it up. Oh wait, the so-called women in your spots are already giving it up. Never mind. But beneath all the clutter, there were two really well-done spots that broke through the barrier and rose to the top for me.

Top Pick: Chrysler “Imported from Detroit”


Let me start off by saying that the writing here is just plain poetic. And a heckuva way to tell a story that’s not even really about the product, but about the city, the people, the foundation of the product. It’s the untold story of the Motor City. The grit and grime that makes Detroit, Detroit. Not Chicago or New York or some fancy schmancy city that overwhelms with all its glitz and glamour. Just a very real personification of Detroit that makes you want to rally for the city. Way to make broken down buildings, gray city streets and factory-ridden skylines beautiful. And as for the Eminem cameo, cheers to him for redeeming himself from the Lipton Brisk spot.

Runner Up: Volkswagen “The Force”

Note: This is the 60-second spot. It did not air during the Superbowl; the 30-second spot did. But the 60-second spot is actually better, in my opinion.

Deutsch, the ad agency behind “The Force”, pulled a smart card by opening this spot up to the public before Superbowl Sunday. So the first time I saw it was on the Today Show, and I immediately gave it two thumbs up. And my two thumbs stayed up all through the Bowl. I think the people behind this spot did a fantastic job of marrying humor and childlike wonder to make a commercial that really pulled at your heart strings. And that’s hard to do when you’re trying to sell automobiles. And to top that off, there were no words! So simple and so endearing. They didn’t use a lot of bells and whistles, and frankly, they didn’t need to. A classic example of letting the consumers feel for themselves.

And on a side note, “The Force” really connected with me on a personal level. It hit me on the childlike wonder element because when I was little (scratch that, I’m still little). When I was younger, around the age of 5 or 6, I experienced a “Force” moment of my own. You see, when I would ride in the backseat of the car, my dad would always wow me from the driver’s seat by magically opening the garage door with two words, “open sesame”. That’s right. We’d pull up into the driveway and come to a complete stop. My dad would say “open sesame” and the garage door would open! It was out of this world! I was amazed and dumb-founded and thought it was so cool. Just like Mini Darth Vader. My dad later let me in on his magic trick. He called it… the garage door opener.

There you have it. That’s my BrandBowl story, and I’m sticking to it. But I’m curious… What were your BrandBowl favorites?

5 Comments

Filed under Advertising, Career

5 responses to “Superbowl Spots that Scored

  1. Great post! I’m not a huge Eminem fan, but love the concept behind that ad. Maybe the most dangerous city in the US should try something like that with Nelly? 🙂

    And, of course, the VW spot was awesome.

  2. Papa Razzi

    That “Open Sesame” moment was magical for me as well. It really tickled me to see the wonder in your eyes when you would utter those magic words and watch the garage door raise at the sound of your voice. It’s the same magic and wonder induced by Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, and the Tooth Fairy. Alas, those wonder years were all too brief, but I’m touched by your recollection.

  3. Pingback: Gearing Up for the BrandBowl | Everything Glitters

  4. Pingback: BrandBowl XLVI: The Good & The Gripes | Everything Glitters

Leave a Reply

