Year of the Kitchen Remodel

Its been a little over two years since we bought and moved into our house. Not to get all nostalgic, but it really did seem like it was only yesterday when it was 2008. We were planning our October wedding, searching for our very first house and preparing to bring a little bundle of joy into our lives. (By little bundle of joy, I really mean big bundle of energy more commonly known as “The Bear”.) Take a little walk down memory lane with me…

He made me a Mrs.

We signed on the dotted line, and the house was officially ours.

 

Looks how itty bitty he was. Emphasis on "was".

Our humble abode

Our home was (and still is) the perfect starter house for a young couple like us. And surprisingly, even though the house was built in the 1920s, it has been very well-maintained. The only updates we had to make upon move-in were replacing the back door that was starting to rust and replacing the window seal in the spare bedroom. Other than that, it was move-in ready. Paint colors and all!

But the one room of the house that could use a bit of a face lift is the kitchen. And we agreed that we’d tackle that project once we’d been in the house for two years. Well, guess what. Those two years are up! Being the very goal-oriented (or anal-retentive, call it what you will) people that we are, we’ve set a goal to remodel our kitchen this year, and that’s exactly what we intend to do!

So ummm… where do we start? Mikey and I have zero experience in remodeling. He’s not much of a handy-man, and I’m not much of a DIY-er. But the good thing is that we’re willing to learn. You’ve got to start somewhere, right? And luckily for us, Mikey’s cousin works in construction and his stepfather knows quite a thing or two about building stuff. (Note that the use of the word “stuff” is a clear indication of our expertise in this area. Not.)

At this point, we’re in the preliminary planning stages — visiting home remodeling showrooms, searching for inspiration on the Internet. That, I can definitely handle. All forms of shopping (including online window shopping) are not just a strength, but a god-given power, of mine. Here’s a sample of the photos I’ve been inspired by so far.

 

Gray may be an atypical color for a kitchen, since most people prefer their kitchens bright and airy. But there's a certain sophistication to gray that I really like.

Photo courtesy of A Perfect Gray

 

I would love to maintain the teal-ish blue color scheme I have going with my dishes and towels. This backsplash would bring a subtle hint of that teal-ish blue into the mix.

Photo courtesy of Modwalls

 

The backsplash here has the same look and feel as the previous photo, but it's unexpectedly paired with these warm, chestnut cabinets. Which I'm surprisingly a big fan of.

Photo courtesy of The Nest

 

I don't know what it is about mosaic tile, but I dig it. Never thought a light blue and brown combo would work, but seeing it here makes me think it's definitely a cool color scheme.

Photo courtesy of Modwalls

 

And last but not least, I'm going to get all Martha Stewart on you. Because I have to admit, I do have a place in my heart for the Cape Cod cottage look. As Martha would say, "it's a good thing".

Photo courtesy of MarthaStewart.com

10 Comments

Filed under Home Improvement

10 responses to “Year of the Kitchen Remodel

  1. Mary Miravalle

    I like the Cape Cod look. Remember, if you are wishing to re-sell in the future, I think the less color the better! On the other hand, why put so much thought and money into a possible “future owner”? Get what will bring you the most happiness!

  2. Mom

    I love the photo’s and your inspiration. Neutral colors are good for resale. You can’t go wrong with ceramic counter tops and I love the sink in the second photo. (I forgot what they call the sink). Keep in mind the style of your home and the intentions of the builder back in the 20’s, but with an updated look. You and Michael have a good eye on design so whatever you do will be perfect.

    • Mom

      I mean the sink in the all white photo.

      • Thanks for the advice! Neutrals are definitely a route we’re leaning toward, but you know how hard it is for me to resist shades of blue! I’m sure we’ll be chatting more with you about it as we start to progress with our plans.

  3. Pingback: Shopping for kitchen cabinets makes me… | Everything Glitters

  4. Pingback: What Lies Beneath | Everything Glitters

  5. Pingback: Damn, I love a to-do list. | Everything Glitters

  6. Pingback: Design Decisions | Everything Glitters

  7. Pingback: The Mexication is upon us. | Everything Glitters

Leave a Reply

